sh*ts and gigs

Q.How do you survive a gig with chronic fatigue and inflamed insides?
A. With great difficulty.

Although here I am to tell the tale…

My plan was to laze around before hand and use as little energy as possible. As the gig was in Glasgow, we planned ahead and booked a night in a hotel to take the pressure of relying on the ever so trustworthy Scotrail. Thanks Abode Glasgow for your hospitality – even if your lift was broken, and I had to climb 3 flights of stairs. That took a dent in the energy fund. Luckily, the bed was like lying on a cloud so I was able to dose while Russell enjoyed the rugby before we had to consider making moves to the 02 Academy.

IMG_7597 (2).JPG

We were able to have a few drinks in the room before hand while I was getting ready. I enjoyed a few cans of Tesco Woo Woo – classy. Chase and Status tweeted the time they were due on stage so we were in no rush to head out as they weren’t coming on till 21:45. We left around 9pm and as it was freezing outside agreed on a taxi to take us instead of walking. This meant more energy for jumping around too! The reception staff were very accommodating in phoning a taxi and it arrived in minutes. No hanging about.

IMG_7611.JPG

I had already had a few drinks with my lunch at TGIs then those wee cans so I was feeling slightly tipsy – I am a lightweight at the best of times. Russell was merry with a good few pints.

We were in a que for a while as the bouncers did a very thorough search of everyone – Thankfully my Solpodol was allowed in. First thing first once I had been reunited with Russell was pee. Yip, I had to brave public toilets and I’d broken the seal so this was going to be a regular occurrence during the night. They were fully stocked with loo roll and reasonably clean… just. It was the start of the night mind you. Toilets give me the fear even though I spend a good amount of time perched on them.

Anyway, after that it was drink time. This night could of went either of two ways. I have one more drink and want my bed, or it sends me the other way and I am able to dance the night away. Alas it was the latter. Yay!

My fragile body probably shouldn’t be attending gigs like Chase and Status but hey, I hate letting it hold me back. Thank goodness for painkillers (which surprisingly I managed without until the next day) I survived an hour and a half of jumping, pushing and shouting –  I loved every minute. We were down the front for most of the gig but soon worked out the bar at the back sold vodka, so lingered around there while topping up our alcohol levels. Probably another thing I shouldn’t be doing… My bad!

IMG_7624.JPG

I had the best time… That was until I woke up in the grumpiest of moods the next morning, with a body that felt like it had been hit by a train and a very dodgy tummy thanks to the pineapple juice in my cocktails. Lovely! Poor Russell managed to put up with me on the train home, along with his raging hangover.

So, another example of not holding back on enjoying life!

Now to catch up on my sleeeeep….. zzzzz.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

