The award for best actress goes to…

It is time to celebrate. I have made it to the end of the working week – Hooray!

(not looking for sympathy by the way – just sharing the downs of Crohn’s)

Getting myself to work by Tuesday was looking unlikely as getting out of bed was such a struggle. Between my hip pain and cramps I was considering if taking early retirement was a viable way out… but I made it.

I cried a few times, took painkillers, drank my weight in coffee (even cheated on Costa with a Starbucks I was that desperate) and ate a lot of beige food. FYI Sainsbury’s chicken goujons get a big thumbs up from me.

Now as I have mentioned before, my illness is invisible. No one can see my infected colon unless a camera is either pushed up or down me – not very pleasant I know. So, I just carry on smiling and wincing quietly in pain as I get on with my day. My acting skills, not to boast (well a wee bit) are amazing. I would even go as far to say I should get an Oscar for outstanding performance in acting ‘healthy’ – obviously I am joking, but it would be nice to attend a fancy award show and wear a pretty dress. Although who knows if my intestines would even allow me to attend?

Anyway, enough of my moaning. It is time to celebrate – I have a pair of clean jammies, bottle of wine in fridge and I can hear pizza calling my name (not Domino’s unfortunately!)

Have a great weekend folks, and to all my fellow invisible illness sufferers – keep smiling you troopers! x

Coffee

 

16 thoughts on “The award for best actress goes to…

  1. I can relate to that, I feel as though I am acting most days. I have several chronic conditions and yet each day I put on a happy face and I carry on as normal for my four children, even when I am in agony, and when they are in bed that’s when I take myself off to bed and break down. It’s very hard! xx

    Like

  2. I really feel for you. It’s not easy dealing with a painful, chronic illness on a daily basis – especially one that’s invisible so the majority of people don’t even understand. Good for you for actually going to work through it all.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

