I like rugby but I love toasties!

I am only going for toasties, copious amounts of Crabbie’s ginger beer and Finn Russell – Is what I told ‘my’ Russell before heading to watch the Scotland V Italy game. It was my birthday, so I felt I was entitled to be the drunken bum out of the two of us and binge on lactose. However, we both ended up equally as drunk after the game, in our jammies, eating Bugles and listening to Motown on YouTube, once we arrived home. What a classy life we lead.

On our way to Murrayfield the atmosphere was buzzing. Bagpipers lined the streets and everyone was in good spirits as it was the last day of the Six Nations. We had to make a stop at a bathroom and tile showroom for me to use the toilet. Don’t worry, I used an actual toilet and not a display one! They served drinks too so it would of been rude not to stay for one… which possibly turned into two.

Rugby 3

It was an early kick off so we rushed to take our seats and the Red Hot Chilli Pipers puffed out a few songs before the players took to the pitch. We were sat in row 3 which was unprotected from the rain and wind. It was cold. Typical Scotland.

Rugby 2pipers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was the runner for alcohol and toasties to let Russ enjoy the game. I was up and down to the toilet anyway so made sense to return with a beer or two. TOP TIP – Ladies, if the queues are too long (which they usually are) run to the Portaloos. They are quiet during the game and much, much, much cleaner than Murrayfield’s actual toilets!

Toastie

I can’t remember the ins and outs of this game – as lets be honest – I was too busy gazing at Finn Russell and stuffing my face but we won and that is the main thing. We celebrated by splitting a ham and cheese toastie (£6 for one!!!!) and headed to the pub where I could drink a classier choice of vodka cranberry and work out if I could afford to pay for my trip to Blackpool after splurging on 3 toasties.

My highlight (apart from toasties – gosh I have typed that word a lot today) was meeting 3 Italians who were had pizza boxes on their head. We couldn’t really communicate but I managed a photo and a cheers to us for winning!

 

15 thoughts on “I like rugby but I love toasties!

Leave a Reply

