Help wanted! Please!

Walk it

I have signed up to walk 10K for Crohn’s and Colitis UK. Bearing in mind I do very little exercise and the only running I do is to the bathroom.

Jumping out a plane or abseiling from a building sounds much more fun. Also, more daredevil-ish too but for now I am in right in thinking I will struggle with this challenge!

Why am I doing this?

I have Crohn’s Disease and I have done for the last 6 years. If you know me, chances are you have seen me at my worst: hospital trips, needles, tablets, infusions, tears – the lot.

I want to raise money to help people get diagnosed earlier so they can start treatment. Also raising awareness to speak up about early symptoms. The worst year and a half of my life was when I was undiagnosed. I was scared, in pain and kept getting fobbed of with IBS.

Crohn’s can be… and in fact is a serious illness, that left untreated can cause immense damage.

Now here is where I need your help!

I know there are A LOT of charities out there who need help too and I understand that you can’t donate to everyone but I would just love if you could share the fact it is ok to talk about poo! No matter what age or gender (as I was recently told to leave it to boys to talk about this subject) Girls poo too. In fact, I poo more than you might think is humanly possible!

So, if you wouldn’t mind could you possibly share my blog/Facebook page/Twitter/Instagram and hopefully it will reach people who are struggling with coming to terms with Crohn’s or Colitis – I know I needed a push to open up!

poo-emojiYou can also sign up to walk 5K or 10K here.

Or if you are feeling extra generous my Just Giving page is here – but please don’t feel pressured!

The support already is very much appreciated and even led to me being recognised in a public toilet of all places.

I am now away to charge my Fitbit and become less of a lazy potato!

Thanks in advance,
Clair x

 

 

22 thoughts on “Help wanted! Please!

  1. Good luck! I read your other blog post with 5 Ws and when you talk about dodgy immune system. When you get the diagnostic, have you been recommended to change your diet? Not the same as food intolerance/allergy I suppose, but it helps my family to change our diet (having IBS and coeliac disease in our family).

    Like

    1. For me it was trial and error. I tend to find the healthier the food the worse it makes me feel as my bowel has to work to digest it – very weird! As no one with Crohn’s suffers in the same way, there is not really one diet suits all 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

