Confessions of a Crohnie – Part 2

 

cropped-poo-emoji.png

  • I have it drummed into me to check my poo for any changes. When changes occur such as colour, texture or smell I note them down to inform my doc.
  • The relief of making it to the toilet in time is never to be taken for granted.
  • I have looked at adult nappies and thought one day I am going to find them very useful.
  • Stomas are scary to me and living in fear of possibly having to get one is draining.
  • Then I remind myself that it would increase my quality of living and I feel a bit better.

cropped-poo-emoji.png

  • Sometimes my poo comes out blue/green. I know not to panic and it will be from either drinking too many blue WKDs (true story), iron tablets or eating spinach (usually).
  • Cider seems to be the only alcohol that plays havoc with MY Crohn’s but every Crohnie is different.
  • I can look at size 8 in the morning the by lunch time I can look 8 months pregnant.
  • River Island have the comfiest leggings – Good for people who suffer from bloating too!
  • I dread when the doctor tells me I have to go on steroids.

cropped-poo-emoji.png

  • I dread going to the doctor/hospital/nurse in general and I like my dad to come with me. Chances of me passing out when seeing a needle/blood are high!
  • Some (most) toilet trips make me cry in pain.
  • Sudo-cream is a very handy thing to have in the house during a flare!
  • If I eat something spicy, I can guarantee it is going to cause serious damage and upset.
  • ^ Same with pineapple, tomato soup, vegetables, sour cream and popcorn.

cropped-poo-emoji.png

 

  • When I am eating, I sometimes have to think about other things to distract me.
  • I only feel really comfortable eating in front of people I know well.
  • I maybe, sometimes use my Crohn’s as an excuse to get out of things (shhh!) BUT more often that not I push through and end up making myself ill.
  • When in a flare (before diagnosis) my pain had been measured higher than someone in labour.
  • Crushing your painkillers into jam and singing a spoonful of sugar makes the medicine go down will result in tears and being sick into the toilet.

CrohnsIf there is anything you would like to know about please ask – I am happy to answer any poo related questions.

Thanks for reading x

28 thoughts on “Confessions of a Crohnie – Part 2

  1. A real insight into what life is life for someone with Crohn’s Disease, which is beyond interesting. My heart goes out to you and your daily struggles.

    Like

  2. This give such a great look into what it must be like for someone living with Crohn’s Disease. I’m sorry things can be so difficult for you day to day.

    Like

  3. It must be very difficult to live with Clair. Reading your post has certainly opened my eyes to just what you go through. I do hope there are some better days, and that it isn’t always so difficult.

    Like

  4. Clair, I’m not actually sure how I stumbled upon your posts, I think it might be from the small world of our town, but often I read your posts and the humour and positivity at which you look at things shines through. To be able to talk openly about the pain you experience is incredible and the fact that you actually keep this page up is amazing, you should be so proud of yourself. Well done! You have highlighted to me how much those suffering from Chrone’s go through and it’s not something that should be taken lightly.

    Like

    1. Hello! Thank you for taking the time to read and comment – I appreciate it lots! You have put such a big smile on my face with your kind words!

      Like

Leave a Reply

