Drinking with a Crohnie – Linlithgow Marches

HIP HIP?! HOORAY!

I get asked a lot if I am ok to drink alcohol, and the answer is yes! (woo) I tend to drink spirits – gin being my favourite – but every Crohnie is different. I struggle with cider and beer which is a shame, as there is nothing better than on a hot day (rare occurrence in Scotland) than to crack open a fruit cider and burn my ginger skin.

Anyway, Tuesday was Linlithgow Marches. A historic event where the boundaries of my little town are checked and declared safe with lots of pipe bands, floats and celebrated with a few alcoholic beverages. You can read more here about the ins and outs – A lot of planning goes into running the day smoothly so thanks to everyone involved!

My family celebrate the Marches by doing a pub crawl along the high street, which Linlithgow has plenty of. We start at the West port and head along to the Low port hitting every pub along the way.

It is an early start on the Marches with pubs opening at 7am – we held off until 10am… This year we were sensible though and lined our stomach with morning rolls cooked by Russell (unlike previous years… oops!)Marches 1 .jpgThe first procession along the high street starts at 5am but I was still sound asleep (I did walk it last year) so I was glad to see the 11am one. This years floats included Beauty and the Beast, Baby Boss and Ghostbusters to name a few.

Marches 2

As the pubs are busier than usual toilet queues are very likely. This is the one time having Crohn’s can come in very handy as I have a ‘Can’t Wait’ card. I do use this to my advantage – naughty, I know! A BIG shout out though to Ellie’s Cellar who let me quickly pop in. I did return the favour by purchasing a mini Edinburgh Gin to top up the hip flask. It is great to see so many people out celebrating together and having a laugh. I always end up bumping into people I haven’t seen in ages. It is a great excuse to catch up!

Marches 4

Being the kids Russell and I think we are, we headed along to the shows that are set up in the Tesco car park. After a few spins on the waltzers I decided I was hungry so went to get pizza. Which unfortunately ended up all down my white dress. I am hoping Vanish will be able to remove the cheese stains.

We met back up with the family and next thing I knew I was up on stage in the local hall singing along with a band to the Proclaimers. Sorry for anyone who had to hear!!!Marches 5

After a little dancing Russell and I decided to call it a night and get some chips and cheese for the walk home.

Definitely one of my favourite days of the year and you will be glad to know I woke up hangover free unlike someone else I know (Russell).

Long live the Marches! 

 

4 thoughts on “Drinking with a Crohnie – Linlithgow Marches

  1. Love your blog… WOW
    Don’t look at mine yet..arrogant (if you were so inclined to, that is) it’s still a bit of a shabby work in progress and doesn’t hold a candle to yours lol
    Sincerely, and with great admiration,
    – CrohnsAnonymous.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

