Festivaling with a Crohnie

So, after watching Glastonbury over the weekend, I got proper festival envy. I spent Sunday watching George Ezra on TV feeling sorry for myself. T in the Park was my summer holiday for a few years but sadly that is no more!

IMG_1674

I have been lucky to attend my local festival, Party at the Palace and had great fun. They were great with my invisible illness and let me use the ‘posh’ loos instead of the smelly ones. For it being held in my little town, some big names have been at it. The Proclaimers, Nile Rogers (Chic), The Feeling and many more. This year we have The Kaiser Chiefs who I LOVED back in the day. Yay. Fingers crossed they have the same great staff as before, and I can sneak to the posh loos – maybe bump into Gok Wan on the way? Festival 1You can camp at PATP but as I have a flat near by I don’t need to. Although I would say the camp site has always been the best part of T in the Park.

Now when I told people I was camping at T in the Park, many looked at me with confusion and fear. “No way will you manage”, “Have you seen the toilets???”, “You will hate it!”

To be honest – I was fine. Yes the toilets where stinking but that could easily be blocked by stuffing baby wipes up your nose. Hand sanitizer was a god send and I was really one too many ciders drunk (sorry mum!) to care.

IMG_1673

The first year I camped, I upgraded to the VIP toilets and showers. I put fresh make up every day and flowers in my hair. I was looking for that perfect Instagram festival photo but by my second year I just walked around like a minger and had a baby wipe shower in the morning (you can never back to many wipes!) My make up was limited and I never even used dry shampoo. I was a total tink but had the best time! The clothes I packed where a lot less than the first time too – I took a suitcase on my first TITP trip. It was packed with outfit options, pot noodles, ham sandwiches and enough loo roll to tee pee the whole campsite (when in reality I was keeping it for my poor bum). After the trek I learnt very quickly less is more AND you can live on chips, cheese & curry sauce without getting a pain.

IMG_1675

As Crohnie what are my top tips for keeping up with the festival goers?

  1. Pack baby wipes – they are handy for everything! Also, don’t feel guilty about not sharing.
  2. Keep hydrated (boring I know, I would much rather keep drinking vodka) this will help your insides, especially kidneys if on azathioprine.
  3. You will probably look like a drug dealer with all your meds but take them! Store them in a safe place and if you forget a dose (due to cider brain) don’t panic – Just remember to take them at your next normal time.
  4. Know where the first aid tent is… in case of emergency!
  5. Don’t feel bad if you end up missing an artist and have to stay at the campsite. That is where all the real fun is.

IMG_2019

PS Crohnies – Another bonus about using the toilets at festivals are that they are already  bad, that no matter what you added to the pan it never really makes a difference (TMI? sorry!) SO be brave, be bold and go dance the soles of your wellies off…

You can get Party at the Palace tickets here

 

 

16 thoughts on “Festivaling with a Crohnie

  1. Great post! I’m glad that you are still able to festival as a Crohnie! Chronic illness may limit us a little but it’s so good when we don’t have to miss out 🙂 your pics are great, looks like you had a blast! Fab tips too lovely, I’m not a Crohnie but I do love a baby wipe – so useful!! X

    Like

  2. it’s great that you go and enjoy yourself! The downside to invisible illnesses is it can be harder to get support but looks like you have some great tips to deal!

    Like

  3. Good for you. It’s so important not to let our illnesses define us or to stop us enjoying life in the same way as others. Sounds like fun and great advice to others with crohns. X

    Like

  4. I love your attitude! My mummy is going to Blissfields next week and its the first weekender that she’s done since coming out of hospital, she’s taking meds and can’t drink but she’s determined to have a good time and not let the illness beat her! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

