Yo Sushi Experience!

Little old me was adventurous today and decided to go with a work colleague to try some sushi at Yo Sushi on Princes Street. It only resulted in me spitting one bit of fish discreetly into a napkin – I think that classes as a success.

Throughout September they are running ‘ The Big £2.80 Bonanza’ on 44 of their dishes. Plates usually range from £2.20 to £6.00 so it is a bargain in my eye and no big loss if I had to go get a Greggs for my lunch after.

Yo2

I said to my colleague I would try one fish plate, his pick, but the rest I would choose. He placed a California Roll in front of me. As soon as I removed the lid I got a waft of seaweed. That was an instant no. However, I managed to take one bite which I struggled to swallow. No amount of water was saving this, so I did the classy thing and spat it into a napkin. Yuck.

My other 3 plates where Prawn Katsu, Chicken Gyoza and Tamango Nigiri (Japanese omelette). These went down no problem – once I had removed all evidence of any smelly seaweed.

Yo4

As the plates pass by on a revolving belt you can take them off yourself. If nothing takes your fancy you can press a button to order with the waitress from the menu. You can do this as many times as you like. I made use of this by hastily ordering a malted chocolate pot. It has been the best decision I have made ALL day. Although tiny, it is a must order from now on. I think it would really be the only reason I would venture back to Yo Sushi (sorry Sushi lovers). It is served with half a strawberry which I kindly gave to my colleague.

Between the two of us, we managed to eat our way through £27 worth of tiny plates. Me eating ones that had been deep fried and contained limited veg, my sushi loving colleague eating the spiciest, most fishest ones.

Yo3

It was definitely an experience, and not one I would rush to do again… unless chocolate pots were involved!

Got suggestions for my next adventure? Let me know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

